Hertfordshire Mum Does Her Part to Build Awareness for World Autism Awareness Week

image2

I’m Caney and in March 2009 my daughter, Virginia, was diagnosed with the invisible lifelong condition of Autism… though she began to regress developmentally the year before diagnosis and when my life forever changed.  As a result, I began my research. One of the most difficult things through the process, however, was the lack of awareness and understanding of the complexity and variation of the Autistic spectrum. As a therapeutic response, I began making notes on my Facebook page…which eventually evolved into my blog of two years, now: http://ginnybeanasd.blogspot.co.uk. It’s a blog focusing on our lives with our severely autistic child and all of the challenges, and joys, we face as a famIly.

Unfortunately, over the last few months I took a break from writing due to my own health. Early last summer I herniated a disk while pregnant with Ginny’s now youngest sister. The complications that sprung from that demanded I rest for months and also left me requiring a wheelchair or walker for most of the summer. In the end, Amber was born two months premature and although that relieved the pressure on my spine, our family was then faced with the pressures brought on by caring for a baby of her gestation.Yes, our December baby had arrived in October… five months later we are all stronger than ever and Amber has proven to be a little trooper just like her big sisters.

As I had taken such a long break from promoting Autism Awareness, I figured I wanted to do as much as I could for Autism Awareness Week, so I will be wearing my purple and pink all week long…the brighter the better! I’m taking part in Onesie Wednesday and hosting a fundraising coffee morning in my onesie after completing the school run in said onesie; and come September I will be taking part in a sponsored trek of the Jurassic Coast and I’ve started training for my 23 mile trek on a daily basis. Because of last summer’s spinal injury I’ve had to take things easy and work on strengthening my back. I get up at 5:30am every morning,  nurse Amber and then fit in a workout before getting my other girls ready for school. I’ll also then do another  half hour evening exercise once the girls are in bed. In the weeks leading-up to my challenge, I will take weekend treks, gradually working up the hours to best prepare for that big weekend.

Thankfully, now that my health has improved, I’ve not only decided to begin blogging again, but to focus on promoting and raising money for Autism awareness. The National Autistic Society is a charity whose resources I found invaluable when Ginny was first diagnosed.

The National Autistic Society or NAS is the leading UK charity for people with Autistic spectrum conditions. They provide information, support and services for families, campaign for a better world for people with autism, and support the 700,000 people in the United Kingdom with autism to help them live the life they choose. However, all of this work relies on support so if you can please help me raise as much as possible for this charity then please do. You can learn more, here: http://www.autism.org.uk/Get-involved/Raise-money/World-Autism-Awareness-Week.aspx Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure.  Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity. https://www.justgiving.com/Ginnybeanasd/

Here’s Caney’s Facebook Event page, too: https://www.facebook.com/events/924709700924620/ bean.html?m=1

Leave a Reply

